Social Work: Reference

The new edition of this dictionary has been fully revised to provide up-to-date definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field.

Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field.

This updated handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity.

Social Work Treatment is a popular and trusted compendium of theories useful to social work students and practitioners.

This concise, accessible, and engaging handbook offers a companion for social work students to acquire professional and competency-based writing skills.

Each of the 78 articles in this volume highlights some of the critical dimensions of contemporary social work practice, guiding clinicians to address four key aspects in order to craft an accurate diagnosis.

Equally useful for students, teachers, and practitioners, the Social Workers' Desk Reference provides comprehensive information on all of the various aspects of social work. Topics covered within the 146 chapters include crisis management, family therapy, treatment planning, disorders, case management, community services, and risk assessment.

This comprehensive resource provides both historical and current information on all aspects of adoption, from many countries and religions, including Africa, Britain, Canada, China, India, Islam, Japan, Jewish, Mexico, Mormon, and others. It provides information on the cultural, ethical, financial, legal, medical, psychological, and social implications of adoption. It highlights perspectives of the birth parents, adopting parents and the adopted child; open and closed adoption; national and international adoption; and grandparent and single-parent adoption.

The foundational communications tool in undergraduate and graduate courses in social work. Defines terms used by social work clinical practitioners, educators, administrators, researchers, advocates, and many others.

The Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior, 3rd edition updates and expands upon the award-winning second edition of this set, addressing social, medical, legal, and political issues related to substance use and addictive behavior. New essays report on contemporary socio-political topics such as the role of drugs and alcohol in the media, the prevalence of drugs in the international sports and fashion industries, the relationship between drug trafficking and terrorism, and the impact of the Internet on drug and alcohol use.