Research Guides: Chemistry: Articles

Key Databases for Chemistry Research

Citations and articles from scientific journals and research publications.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society publications with full text access to some articles.
SciFinder-n - users with accounts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for scholarly, chemical, and scientific literature. Obtain articles through the Check for Full text link or Interlibrary Loan.
SciFinder-n - new users This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstract for scholarly, chemical and scientific literature. You MUST REGISTER FROM A COMPUTER ON CAMPUS to use this database. Obtain articles through the Check for Full-text link or Interlibrary Loan.
You must register from a computer on campus to use this database. . Although this database is not all full text, you can still obtain the articles through the Check for Full-textlink or Interlibrary Loan.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides e-book access to Handbook of Water Analysis; Methods in Food Analysis; Trace Environmental Quantitative Analysis, Principles, Techniques and Applications, as well as several open access e-book publications.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free access to citations for articles in biomedical literature from MEDLINE. May include links to full text content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.

Searching for Reviews and Research Articles in ACS

Google Scholar

Google Scholar lists journal articles, books and other scholarly resources in a wide variety of subjects. Links to the VWU library's holdings are included.

Journal Finder

Open Access Science and Math Journals

Elsevier's Open Archive
Elsevier enables subscribers and the general public to have free access to archived material in 140 Elsevier journals. Articles featured in the archives are free for everyone to read and download. Newly published articles are made available after an embargo period.

Science Databases

BioOne This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text articles and e-books from biological, ecological, and environmental science publications.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Full text and indexing for journals, books, and monographs,
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.