Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Religious Studies
The databases listed below have been selected by librarians. These cover several disciplines, including religious studies. Library databases are one of the best ways to find articles from journals, magazines, newspapers and the web.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide range of peer-reviewed content in the humanities and social sciences such as comprehensive indexing for nearly 1,200 periodicals, more than 1,300,000 citations, and over 240,000 book reviews.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals and magazines in religion and philosophy.
Writing for Religious Studies
The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's handout, Writing for Religious Studies, has explanations about the kinds of writing you may be asked to do in this discipline.
New York Times - Religion and Belief