Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - Useful for Art History Research
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text journals, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
Thematic Essays in Art
All Thematic Essays
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History feed presents essays written by the members of NYC's Metroplitan Museum of Art curatorial staff on themes such as artistic movements and periods, archaeological sites, empires and civilizations, media, artists, and more