Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Images through Museum Websites
Remember to check museum websites for digital images. The quality of these images will be better than most you will find on the open web. And remember to always cite your images, no matter where you find them!
Digital Images Resources
Provides a rich database of images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Collections of historical images from the Library of Congress, documenting the "American experience".
Royalty free stock photography collection specializing in contemporary beauty, business and lifestyle imagery.
Life photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
National Geographic Photography
Browse photo of the day images
NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Site where people can exchange their photos for inspiration or work.
Beautiful, free photos. Gifted by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
Smithsonian Open Access Images and 3D Models
An open access platform of 2.8 million high-resolution two- and three-dimensional images from across its collections for patrons to peruse and download free of charge. Featuring data and material from all 19 Smithsonian museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives and the National Zoo, the new digital depot encourages the public to not just view its contents, but use, reuse and transform them into just about anything they choose.
Digital Images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Metropolitan Museum Initiative
Provides Free Access to 400,000 Digital Images
The Metropolitan Museum’s initiative—called Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)—provides access to images of art in its collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media. Works that are covered by the new policy are identified on the Museum’s website (http://www.metmuseum.org/collections) with the acronym OASC.