Research Guides: Faculty Support: Remote Instruction Support

Accessing Library Materials

eBook Business Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of e-books for business research, special projects and entrepreneurial needs from a variety of publishers and university presses.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 67,000 e-books in a wide range of disciplines.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video platform with content spanning all subjects, including the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, Economics and Health. All films have public performance rights.
A free Films on Demand app is available for both Android and Apple devices. Downloading one of these apps is not required, but they are available for those who prefer to use them.
«Before downloading one of these apps, go to the Films on Demand database using the link above first to create a personal profile, selecting a username and password. You will later use the username and password for this personal account to log in to the Films on Demand app once you have downloaded it.»

Select one of the links below to download the appropriate app for your device.
Knovel e-books This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books in the areas of chemistry and chemical engineering, computer hardware engineering, environment and environmental engineering, general engineering and project administration, industrial engineering and operations management, manufacturing engineering,
mechanic and mechanical engineering, oil and gas engineering, fire protection engineering and emergency response, transportation engineering, and sustainable energy and environment.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Perpetual access to e-books on a variety of subjects from ProQuest Ebook Central.
Springer Nature e-Books This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature e-book collections in Behavioral Science, Biomedicine & Life Sciences, Earth & Environmental Science, Business & Management, Education, Law & Criminology, Literature, Cultural & Media Studies, and Social Sciences. Also contains access to over 60 open access journals in a variety of subjects. All e-books in this collection are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides e-book access to Handbook of Water Analysis; Methods in Food Analysis; Trace Environmental Quantitative Analysis, Principles, Techniques and Applications, as well as several open access e-book publications.

University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of frontlist and near frontlist e-book titles from Chicago Scholarship Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, and Stanford Scholarship Online in a wide variety of subjects. All titles are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).

EBOOKS: If you experience access problems due to limits on the number of users, please contact the library. We may be able to remove these constraints.

Videos on Remote Teaching

Contact the Library

Contact the library:

Via email: Library@vwu.edu

Main Library Phone: (757) 455-3224

Book a virtual appointment via Zoom

Request scanning of pages from a print book or print journal

Selecting Online Library Resources for Courses A Guide for VWU Teaching Faculty

Selecting Online Library Resources for Courses A Guide for VWU Teaching Faculty
Use this guide to learn more about selecting library sources for online or remote courses and how to link from Blackboard to those sources.

Library Instruction

If you would like library instruction for your online course, you may request a session through the Library Instruction Request Form.

Library instruction can be provided through multiple formats asynchronously or synchronously through Zoom or Google Hangouts. Worksheets, assignments and tutorials can also be customized to work with faculty assignments. If you have questions about online library instruction, please contact your librarian liaison.

Scannx

While the library is closed for the duration of the semester, you may request that library staff scan print book chapters for use in your courses. To request book chapter scanning, please complete this form.