Research Guides: Theatre: Digital Images and Video

Digital Images Resources

AICT
Provides a rich database of images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis
American Memory
Collections of historical images from the Library of Congress, documenting the "American experience".
Life photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
National Geographic Photography
Browse photo of the day images
NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Stock.xchng
Site where people can exchange their photos for inspiration or work.
more...less...
In the drop down menu that says "Restricted OK," be sure to select "NO" to find images that you can use
Phototake
Choose Royalty-free when searching for images. Resource for scientific, medical, and technological photographs and illustrations.
Unsplash
Beautiful, free photos. Gifted by the world’s most generous community of photographers.

British Library Images Online
The national library of England offers images of manuscripts, illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs.
Digital Public Library of America
Includes images that are contained in libraries and museums across the country and are free to use.
Playbill.com/video
Searchable site with current and past video for Broadway and off Broadway shows including interviews, clips from live shows and behind scenes.
Yale Digital Content
Searches Yale's collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video.

Digital Copyright

Copyright Clearance Center
Technology has revolutionized the way people create, publish, use and share content, the CCC provides simple ways to share knowledge while supporting the principles of copyright.
Creative Commons
Creative Commons copyright licenses work within the current copyright law, allowing creators to freely share their work by granting certain levels of restrictions.
Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA)
PDF document.

Digital Images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Metropolitan Museum Initiative

Provides Free Access to 400,000 Digital Images

The Metropolitan Museum’s initiative—called Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)—provides access to images of art in its collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media. Works that are covered by the new policy are identified on the Museum’s website (http://www.metmuseum.org/collections) with the acronym OASC.

Full Length Performances

Broadway on PBS

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+, includes over 600 productions, from musicals to literary classics and in a range of formats including captured theatre, films, TV adaptations, audio theatre and poetry recitals; more than 800 video resources such as interactive workshops, dynamic e-learning videos, and exclusive interviews, lectures and documentaries; and over 21,000 pages of written resources, from accessible guides to essays to ready-made teaching resources, written by educators for educators.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Explore Subjects>English>Drama and the Theatre
A free Films on Demand app is available for both Android and Apple devices. Downloading one of these apps is not required, but they are available for those who prefer to use them.
«Before downloading one of these apps, go to the Films on Demand database using the link above first to create a personal profile, selecting a username and password. You will later use the username and password for this personal account to log in to the Films on Demand app once you have downloaded it.»

Select one of the links below to download the appropriate app for your device.

Macbeth - Part 1 | Folger Theatre and Two River Theater Company
Folger Shakespeare Theatre 2008 production.