Skip to main content

ENG286 Banned Books: Banned or Challenged?

Resource guide about banned and/ or challenged books, censorship, and intellectual freedom

What's the difference between a challenge and a banning?

"A challenge is an attempt to remove or restrict materials, based upon the objections of a person or group.

 A banning is the removal of those materials. 

Challenges do not simply involve a person expressing a point of view; rather, they are an attempt to remove material from the curriculum or library, thereby restricting the access of others."

American Library Association Banned or Challenged Books

Find books, media, articles, and more ...

"Put phrases in quotes"

Advanced Search

Top Reasons for Banning or Challenging a Book

The following were the top three reasons cited for challenging materials as reported to the Office of Intellectual Freedom:

  1. the material was considered to be "sexually explicit"
  2. the material contained "offensive language"
  3. the materials was "unsuited to any age group"

Links to Lists of Challenged Books

Hofheimer Librarians

Hofheimer Librarians's picture
Hofheimer Librarians
Contact:
Amber Gruszeczka
Joan P. Brock School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
agruszeczka@vwu.edu
757-455-3221

Greg Snyder
D. Henry Watts School of Professional Studies
gsnyder@vwu.edu
757-455-3262

Stephen Leist
Birdsong School of Social Sciences
sleist@vwu.edu
757-455-2131

Sherry Matis
Susan S. Goode School of Arts and Humanities
smatis@vwu.edu
757-455-3254

Sue Erickson
Library Director
serickson@vwu.edu
757-455-3220

Text-A-Librarian 757-401-6510
Website

Your Questions?

  • a small icon
    Email your question to library@vwu.edu  
  • a small icon
    Call the library at 757/455-3224  
  • a small icon  Book an appointment with a librarian. 
  •