Research Guides: History: Articles

Databases - Historical Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexing to scholarly articles in journals from 1964 to present on the history of the United States and Canada. Citations and links to books and media reviews. Links to full text for many articles.
Use Historical Abstracts for World History.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
This historical archive is a guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present. Indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps, and flags.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to primary source documents: Milestone documents in American history and Milestone documents of American leaders. Current topics essays on civil disobedience, social justice, nationalism & populism, violent demonstrations, and race relations also included.
To gain off campus access, create an account in this resource on campus.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of books, pamphlets, court records, and manuscript materials consisting of debates on slavery and abolition.
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: Institution of Slavery; Part IV: Age of Emancipation

Journal Finder

Databases - Multidisciplinary

These databases are multidisciplinary - they contain articles on many topics.

Search using multiple terms to narrow your search (e.g. elections and women).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities, life, health, social, and physical sciences.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

Databases covering specific topics and fields

African Americans and Reconstruction, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 1,400 fully searchable printed works from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. It includes documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, employment, and more, including the gaps between written law and practice.
Find additional information about the database on the product information page.
African Americans and Jim Crow, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,000 fully searchable printed works from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I. These works provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement and include such topics as African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature.
Find additional information about the database on the product information page.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database for economic research that offers full text for hundreds of journals including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo. In addition to full text coverage, the database contains indexing and abstracts for economic journals.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, and a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and related content. More than 260 full text journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 430 journals and periodicals.
Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new window
Serves as a resource for scholars on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from scholarly journals, magazines and other documents on women’s studies and feminist research. Full text for book reviews.

Major journals in History

American Historical Review
(JSTOR, 1895-2007) Presents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history. See Academic Search Complete for 1975-present (1-year Embargo).
William and Mary Quarterly
The William and Mary Quarterly publishes refereed scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early nineteenth century and beyond.
Journal of Modern History
Presents articles and reviews of recently published books in multiple areas of history. Current coverage in JSTOR is 1929-2007.

Databases - Current Newspaper & News Sources

New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1851-2019 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
News database with global, national, regional, and local news sources, including a unique range of formats (full-text articles, PDF image editions, web-only content, broadcast transcripts, and videos).
This resource supports a diverse range of research needs across multiple academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Includes access to our local Virginian-Pilot newspaper.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from local and regional newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade publications, media transcripts, and websites. Company profiles and historical market data also provided.

Historical Early Newspapers

Virginia Gazette from Colonial Williamsburg
Chronicling America:Historic American Newspapers from Library of Congress
Allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present

HarpWeek: The Civil War and Reconstruction (1857-1877) This link opens in a new window
Full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly, with an index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and advertisements. Access is available for 1857-1865: The Civil War Era; 1866-1871: Reconstruction I; 1872-1877: Reconstruction II.