History: US History Web Resources

Sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Access to a variety of digital collections and other services.

Site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Documents in law, history and diplomacy.

Materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.

Books, pamphlets, letters, and diaries, dating from the latter eighteenth through the early twentieth century.

The Library of Virginia houses a large collection of manuscripts, published materials, photographs, broadsides, newspapers, maps, and prints pertaining to the Civil War. The collections represent both Confederate and Union sides and include topics relating to secession, specific battles and regiments, camp life, Reconstruction and the Restored government, slavery, and veteran organizations.

DocSouth is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative resource on the history and culture of Virginia. EV includes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, as well as primary documents and media objects.

Details life in two American communities, one Northern and one Southern, from the time of John Brown's Raid through the era of reconstruction.