Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives for the college are kept in the Library and maintained by Dr. Stephen Mansfield.
office location: Library, Second Floor
United Methodist Collection
The VWU United Methodist Collection, located
within the Library, functions as a repository
for publications relating to the history and workings of the United
Methodist Church (to include Methodism in general, early Methodism,
American Methodism, Virginia Conference, Baltimore Conference,
Evangelical United Brethren Church [E. U. B.], etc.*).
collection is in addition to other United Methodist publications that
may be found in the library’s reference section, or shelved with the
catalogued materials throughout the general library inventory.
Most archival or special collections materials are non-circulating, which means that they cannot be checked out from their home library.
Old Dominion University Special Collections
Special Collections houses the University Archives, Manuscripts, and books and printed material relating to Virginia and Tidewater History.
Sargeant Memorial Room: Slover Library, Norfolk
A variety of books and periodicals about Norfolk and Virginia, as well as Norfolk maps and photographs, high school yearbooks, and city directories for the Hampton Roads region.
The MacArthur Memorial Library & Archives
The library contains General MacArthur's original collection of 5,000 volumes augmented by gifts and purchases of books concerning the General, his times, and his associates. This is a non-lending reference and research library. The archives proper hold some 2 million documents, 86,000 photographs, 130 photograph albums, and 111 motion picture films in addition to sound recordings, newspapers, rare books, scrapbooks, and microfilms.
Virginia Beach Public Library
Access to a growing collection of electronic Virginia Beach/Princess Anne County archival collections.
Norfolk Historical Society
The Norfolk Historical Society interprets and preserves the history of Norfolk, a Virginia seaport city chartered in 1682.
College of William & Mary, Swem Library Special Collections
Focused on Virginia history, collections include diaries, letters, other manuscripts, periodicals, rare books and other records of the daily lives of Americans of all backgrounds.
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library
The John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library is dedicated to advancing knowledge of colonial British America, the American Revolution and the early United States. Through its specialized collections of books, manuscripts, images and databases, together with its fellowship program, the Library supports and encourages research in the political and economic life of the thirteen colonies and the new republic, African American studies, the decorative arts and material culture, archaeology, architectural history, and historic preservation.
...the information pages for special collections and archives before visiting! You may even need to schedule an appointment.