Research Guides: Communication: Articles

Databases for Communication: Best Bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communications and mass media e-books and articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.

New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1851-2019 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video platform with content spanning all subjects, including the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, Economics and Health. All films have public performance rights.
A free Films on Demand app is available for both Android and Apple devices. Downloading one of these apps is not required, but they are available for those who prefer to use them.
«Before downloading one of these apps, go to the Films on Demand database using the link above first to create a personal profile, selecting a username and password. You will later use the username and password for this personal account to log in to the Films on Demand app once you have downloaded it.»

Select one of the links below to download the appropriate app for your device.

NOTE: Bibliographic records access to the flagship journal for the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication is available at Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly. Citations for these articles may also be found in our databases.

Journal Finder

Scholarly vs. Popular

SCHOLARLY	POPULAR
Credentials of the author	No author, only a name provided, no credentials
Peer reviewed
Length of article (usually 10+ pages)	Short in length (usually under 5 pages)
Specialized vocabulary	Generalized vocabulary
Written for an academic audience	Written for a broad audience
Bibliography/References/Footnotes	No citations supporting article information