Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - Useful for Research in Philosophy
Writing for Philosophy
The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's handout, Writing for Philosophy, has explanations of the kinds of writing you may be asked to do in this discipline.
Google Scholar - Another Tool to Find Scholarly Articles
Google Scholar lists journal articles, books and other
scholarly resources in a wide variety of subjects. Links to the VWU
library's holdings are included.
Databases - Multidisciplinary
These databases are multidisciplinary - they contain articles on many topics.
Search using multiple terms to narrow your search (e.g. elections and women).
Academic Search Complete
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
Wiley Online Library
Journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities, life, health, social, and physical sciences.