Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Philosophy Encyclopedias
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Peer-reviewed academic resource. University of Tennessee at Martin
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP Online) is the largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of philosophy. It is a trusted source of quality information, providing access to over 2,800 articles that have been edited for level and consistency by a team of renowned subject experts.
Philosophy Information on the internet
Podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-size topics.
A video website devoted to philosophical thinking
PhilPapers - Online research in philosophy
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
Ethics Education Library - Case Studies
From Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions at Illinois Institute of Technology: A database of ethics cases from the fields of science, engineering, the social sciences, and business.
Leiter Reports: A Philosophy Blog
News and views about philosophy, the academic profession, academic freedom, intellectual culture...and a bit of poetry.
'Out of the crooked timber of humanity, no straight thing was ever made'
A blog dedicated to philosophy, ethics, and academia.
Professional associations are good resources for research, conferences, developments in the field, and career information. Associations sometimes offer a discounted rate for student membership.