Research Guides: Film Studies: Film Reviews

Film Reviews and Movie News

Use these databases to find film/movie reviews published in newspapers.

NewsBank Access World News
News database with global, national, regional, and local news sources, including a unique range of formats (full-text articles, PDF image editions, web-only content, broadcast transcripts, and videos).
This resource supports a diverse range of research needs across multiple academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Includes access to our local Virginian-Pilot newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.
New York Times with Index
Full text coverage from 1851-2019 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.

Film Review Annual by Jerome S. Ozer (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995 .F55 (22 volumes) 1981-2002
ISBN: 0891981365
Publication Date: 1988
Library has 1981-2002. Each annual volume contains full-text reviews for films released during the previous year. The reviews come from fifteen general periodicals, newspapers, and film journals, such as Film Quarterly and Monthly Film Bulletin. Provides citations for additional reviews. Arranged alphabetically by title, also lists awards and includes numerous indexes.
International Film Guide by Variety International Film Guide
Call Number: PN1993.3 .I544 (26 volumes) 1964-1989
Library owns from 1964-1989. Variety International Film Guide is the highly popular annual reference to the who, what, where, and when of the international film scene and the single most authoritative survey of world cinema.
New York Times Film Reviews by New York Times
Call Number: REF PN1995 .N4 (3 volumes) 1932-1958
ISBN: 0824075781
Publication Date: 1932-1958
Library owns volumes 2-4 (1932-1958). Reprints film reviews published in the New York Times from 1913-1994. Arranged by date of publication, title and other indexes provide the date for each review.