Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Databases - useful for Film Studies Research
Articles and citations from journals and research publications.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communications and mass media e-books and articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text journals, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography
Subject index for Humanities and interdisciplinary scholarship including books, articles, and websites published on literary theory, criticism, dramatic arts, folklore and linguistics. There is full text access to over 1,000 of the most used journals and articles, some foreign language articles and documents dating back as far as 1881. The database also includes records and links to full text in JSTOR and Project MUSE. The VWU subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals database, which provides detailed information on more than 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the bibliography, as well as the MLA Thesaurus which includes names of persons, languages, groups, genres, stylistic and structural features, themes, sources, influences, processes, theories and other related topics.
While this database is not all full text content, users still can obtain the articles using the Check for Full text link or through Interlibrary Loan.
Academic Search Complete
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
ABCs of Source Evaluation
When evaluating sources, remember your ABC's:
Authority, or Accuracy: Who is the author? What are their credentials? Is the information accurate?
Bias: Are there any possible biases or conflicts of interest? Are they extreme enough to compromise the argument?
Currency: Is the information still current, or relevant to your topic? This does not necessarily mean the information has to be recently published.