Research Guides: Theatre: Books

LC Classification

PN1530 - The Monologue

PN1551 - The Dialogue

PN1600 - Drama

PN2000 - Dramatic representation. The theater

PN2085 - The Stage and accessories

These books can be found on the 2nd floor. At the top of the stairs, turn left and follow the call numbers on ends of shelves to the PN section.

For Older Works in the Public Domain

Hathi Trust
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Project Gutenburg
The mission of Project Gutenberg is simple: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks.

Theatre Textbooks - Reference Collection ("in library" use only)

Living Theatre by Edwin Wilson; Alvin Goldfarb
Call Number: REF PN2101 .W54 2018
ISBN: 9780072562576
Publication Date: 2003-08-05
Textbook for TH302 - located in the reference collection, downstairs behind the DVD collection.
The Norton Anthology of Drama by J. Ellen Gainor (Editor); Stanton B. Garner (Editor); Martin Puchner (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 6112.N67 2018
ISBN: 9780393283471
Publication Date: 2017-09-14
Textbook for TH302 - located in the reference collection, downstairs behind the DVD collection.

Theatre Books at VWU

Actors on Acting by Eds. Tobey Cole and Helen Krich Chinoy
Call Number: PN2065 .C55 1954
Publication Date: 1954
A chronology of American musical theater by Richard C. Norton
Call Number: REF ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002
ISBN: 0195088883
Entries for more than 3,000 plays include details such as the full cast, crew, production staff, venues, number of performances, creative personnel, and songs, which are listed as they occur within acts when this information is known. Three indexes cover song titles, show names, and names of principal players and famous chorus members.
Fragile Magic by Ronald A. Willis
Call Number: PN1707 .W55 2012
ISBN: 9781585104529
Publication Date: 2011
"This is a ... book outlining the task of viewing theatrical performances and evaluating them. Although aimed primarily at the festival level respondent, it is a book that can enhance the ability to evaluate and respond to the theatre experience, creating at the broadest level a sensitive and enriched audience"--Publisher's description.
Shakespeare in Stages by Christine Dymkowski (Editor); Christie Carson (Editor)
Call Number: PR3091 .S3635 2010
ISBN: 9780521884792
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
Ranging from the sixteenth to the twenty-first centuries and examining productions of plays in Britain, USA, Canada, Australia, and South Africa, the studies focus attention on the complex interaction between particular plays, issues, events, and periods.
Working Together in Theatre by Robert Cohen
Call Number: PN2053 .C585 2011
ISBN: 9780230239821
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
This readable and practical guide, written by leading author Robert Cohen, provides advice on how successful collaboration can be achieved. exploring collaboration between a range of theatre artists from Directors to Designers, from Actors to Dramaturgs, Cohen draws on a wide-range of historical context and examples from contemporary professional practice.