Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers in Databases
Many library databases contain newspaper articles, however the coverage is mainly recent, since the 1990s.
International business and news coverage from local and regional newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade publications, media transcripts, and websites. Company profiles and historical market data also provided.
Gale Primary Sources
The Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, and The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2012. Does not include access to the Sunday Times.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.
New York Times with Index
Full text coverage from 1851-2018 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.
Regional Business News
Provides full text regional business publications for the United States and Canada. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2012
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2012 is one of two digital archives included in Gale Primary Sources. This cross-search interface provides access to both The Times Digital Archive and The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003. Access to the Sunday Times (London) is not included.
Newspapers by Region
In the Factiva database, you can search for articles published within a specific region, both in U.S. and worldwide.
On left side, click on Source.
Use the drop-down list at the end of the Select Source Category line. Click on Publications by Region.
Click on the + symbol at the beginning of a geographic description to narrow down to a specific area.
Example: North American Countries > United States > Virginia
Additional example (International): Asia > Eastern Asian Countries > Japan & South Korea
With this search, click once on each of the publications that you want to include.
Enter search terms in the Free Text search box at the top.
Click Run Search.