Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Textbook Collections
The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation and use of books which are openly licensed -- in short, free and editable. These textbooks are also openly licensed with a Creative Commons meaning that dependent on the license, they may be legally displayed/uploaded/hosted, distributed, modified, etc. without fee, permission, or conducting a fair use analysis. (See Creative Commons for more information on the various CC open licenses.)
Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each collection has items unique to their collection.
Additional books that are not technically "open" are also listed. They may be "free online" but subject to copyright, or they may be low cost options.
Open Textbooks (free and openly licensed)
Open Textbook Library (Univ of MN)
The Open Textbook Library is a collection of over 300 freely available electronic textbooks licensed under one of six Creative Commons licenses. Some books include faculty peer reviews. All can be read online or are downloadable for offline reading.
Open Stax College (Rice University)
A growing collection of professional quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed, editable intro-level textbooks. All textbooks are licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution license (CC BY) and are freely available in PDF, HTML, ePub, and customizable via Connexions (cnx.org). iBook versions are $4.99. Hardcover print versions range from $30-50 depending on the size of the book. Most OpenStax books include ancillary material. Many have companion online homework systems available at a discounted rate.
Current OpenStax college level books include: Find ancillary materials for each book at https://openstax.org/subjects or ancillaries shared by other faculty members at: https://www.oercommons.org/hubs/OpenStax
British Columbia Campus Open Campus Textbook List
Openly licensed textbooks created by BCCampus, a consortium of post-secondary educational institutions in British Columbia.
A growing collection of openly licensed textbooks in a wide variety of topics.
MERLOT contains links to freely available online textbooks from a variety of sources. MERLOT II is a project of the California State University System.
- Search instructions: (Filter "material type" by "open textbook").
OER Commons indexes a wide variety of openly licensed educational materials. Licenses vary by item.
Search instructions: (Under "material type" select "textbook" or for a curated collection go to: https://www.oercommons.org/hubs/open-textbooks )
Saylor Academy Bookshelf
Each of the books in the Saylor Academy bookshelf is freely available for download, online reading, and sharing under one of various open licenses.
Directory of Open Access Books
Openly accessible (and many openly licensed) electronic books. Nearly 2,500 books as of January 2015. Includes search and browse finding features. Many times from international publishers and strong focus on humanities and social sciences.
Freely available, open-licensed educational materials in a wide variety of fields (electrical engineering, music, psychology etc.). Rice University.
The Global Text Project
publishes open content electronic textbooks that are freely available. They focus on content development and Web distribution, and work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks globally available to the many who cannot afford them.
Books in the Public Domain
GMU OER MetaSearch
In conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, University Libraries is developing a search engine that simultaneously queries more than a dozen sources of educational materials–content that is open access and immediately available for use in your courses. We’re still adding search targets but today our OER Metafinder searches fifteen sites and returns the top 250 or so hits from each site–in seconds!
Open Teaching Resources
Life DiscoveryEd Digital Library (LDDL)
Online resource portal for biology education in ecology, plant biology and evolution. This project is a partnership of the Ecological Society of America, the Botanical Society of America and the Society for the Study of Evolution, collectively, the Life Discovery Partners.
Free of charge based on the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license. Teaching activities, data sets and figure sets on the site are peer-reviewed.
Open Source Statistical Software
Field Guides: https://scholarship.claremont.edu/codee/vol10/iss1/2/