Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Embassies in the U.S.
A resource of and for the Washington DC foreign embassy community.
CIA World Fact Book
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
U.S. State Department Background Notes
Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Briefings from The Economist Intelligence Unit
Analyse political and economic trends in nearly 200 countries and show you exactly how national, regional and global events will affect your business in the short to medium term. Each report examines and explains the issues shaping the countries where you operate: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Every report also includes a two-year economic and political forecast.
Annenberg Political Fact Check
Nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. Monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
National Women's Hall of Fame
Visit the National Women's Hall of Fame - the home of inspiration, innovation and imagination to learn more about great American women. Discover the stories of NWHF Inductees by browsing the Women of the Hall section. "Showcasing great women...Inspiring all!" from Seneca Falls to the world.
Supreme Court Database
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms.
U.S. Agency for International Development
USAID is an independent federal government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State. Supports long-term and equitable economic growth and advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting: economic growth, agriculture and trade, global health and democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance.
Evaluating Web Resources
Evaluating Internet Information
The internet provides useful, current
and interesting information as well as very biased, inaccurate or
incomplete information. The following criteria may help you determine whether to use a specific
web site for information.
* Look at the URL and determine
the type of domain (.com, .edu, .gov, .org, etc.). * Identify who created the site; this information may or may not be listed on
the website. * Find the author's or publisher's credentials; this information may or
may not be listed on the website. On many websites, the section called
'About Us' will provide this information.
* Consider the purpose of the site.* Find out when the site was created and how frequently it is updated. Check
to see when was it last updated. Older information may or may not be
useful to you. * Determine if the website provides unbiased information and/or covers
cover more than one side of the topic.
* Try to evaluate if the information factual or opinion.* Consider
whether the information can be verified elsewhere.
Primary Source Collections
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
A collection of over 1,600 primary source documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom.
Virginia Untold: The African American Narrative
Virginia Untold provides access points to the individual stories of African Americans who lived in Virginia from the establishment of slavery in the 1600s until its demise in 1865. Taken as a whole, these individual stories help to shed light on the narrative of a people that has not been fully told. From the Library of Virginia.
United States Constitution
Includes historical notes regarding the creation and ratification of the U.S. Constitution and its amendments, as well as detailed analyses of subsequent legal interpretations of constitutional language.
Images of the African Diaspora
Since 1974, Professor Henry Drewal has been documenting Afro-Brazilian visual and performance arts and artists, primarily in Salvador, Bahia but also elsewhere, including Recife, Rio de Janeiro, Fortaleza, Maranhao, and other sites primarily in northeastern Brazil. These images provide a glimpse into the rich presence, creativity, beliefs and practices of these artists and their communities. The collection includes Afro-Brazilian religious arts collected in various museums and cultural institutions, as well as those in use by Afro-Brazilians, some in the context of religious practices such as candomble, others from festivals such as carnaval. The arts depicted include sculpture, musical instruments, jewelry and decorative arts, as well as textiles/costumes, and paintings. This collection is vast in its scope.
Selections from Eliot Elisofan Photographic Archives
Image gallery from the National Museum of African Art