Articles - English 105 - College Writing - Research Guides at Virginia Wesleyan University

Databases for General Information

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
News database with global, national, regional, and local news sources, including a unique range of formats (full-text articles, PDF image editions, web-only content, broadcast transcripts, and videos).
This resource supports a diverse range of research needs across multiple academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Includes access to our local Virginian-Pilot newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.
New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1851-2019 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.

Additional subject specific databases are listed on the individual Research Guides for each subject. You will also find a complete A-Z list of our databases by clicking the Databases tab from the library homepage. For current New York Times articles, use the Factiva Database.

ENG 105 - Evaluating Resources: ACTIVITY

Group 4 - Website

Evaluating Sources Rhetorically - Handout

ENG105 Resources - Digital Handout
Resources Discussed in Today's Lesson
Review of Sources
Log into Google with VWU email to access document. Copy and paste the citations for your sources.
Three Question Review

Keyword Worksheet

Keyword Worksheet
Use this Keyword Worksheet to help brainstorm synonyms for your database keyword searching.

What are Databases and Why You Need Them

Permission to embed in course/class/LibGuide granted by the creator, Yavapai College Library (Uploaded to YouTube on September 29, 2011).

3 Key Search Tips for Database Research

Start with the databases listed in the "Databases for General Information" box to locate information for your English 105 research.

Use these 3 key search tips:

Search your topic multiple times using different keywords and search strategies.

Read the citations and abstracts of the articles you find.

Pay attention to subject terms listed to help you find similar or related topics

English 105 - College Writing: Articles

Databases for General Information

ENG 105 - Evaluating Resources: ACTIVITY

Keyword Worksheet

What are Databases and Why You Need Them

3 Key Search Tips for Database Research