Research Guides: Chemistry: Resources by Course: CHEM 221/222: Organic Chemistry

Online Open (Free) Textbook

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 32 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
ChemWiki
MSDS: Safety Data Sheets
Links to sites that provide MSDS.

Citations and articles from scientific journals and research publications.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society publications with full text access to some articles.
SciFinder-n - users with accounts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for scholarly, chemical, and scientific literature. Obtain articles through the Check for Full text link or Interlibrary Loan.
SciFinder-n - new users This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstract for scholarly, chemical and scientific literature. You MUST REGISTER FROM A COMPUTER ON CAMPUS to use this database. Obtain articles through the Check for Full-text link or Interlibrary Loan.
You must register from a computer on campus to use this database. . Although this database is not all full text, you can still obtain the articles through the Check for Full-textlink or Interlibrary Loan.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides e-book access to Handbook of Water Analysis; Methods in Food Analysis; Trace Environmental Quantitative Analysis, Principles, Techniques and Applications, as well as several open access e-book publications.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free access to citations for articles in biomedical literature from MEDLINE. May include links to full text content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.

Merck Index Online
Online database of chemicals.
Common Molecules Collection
Collection of molecules and their structures listed in categories (biochemicals, taste and aroma, marine, etc).
Isomers of Organic Compounds
An introduction to isomers in organic chemistry with definitions and examples.
Organic Chemistry Help!
Frostburg State University Help page for Organic Chemistry includes tutorials, practice tests, and reaction reviews.
Organic Simulations & Demonstrations
Computer simulations of concepts that are difficult to visualize.
Chemical Drawing Program
ChemSketch is a Chemical Drawing Freeware Program from ACD Labs.
Video Tutorials: Organic Chemistry Lab Techniques

Fisher Scientific
Scientific research, laboratory testing and life science research — the latest equipment and instrumentation, finest chemicals and highest-quality supplies.
Sigma-Aldrich
Chemical and biochemical products and kits used in scientific research, including genomic and proteomic research, biotechnology, and pharmaceutical development.