Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are databases?
Online research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources. May also include podcasts, transcripts, books, reports, and reviews.
Some focus on a kind of source such as newspaper articles, or on scholarly research in a specific academic field. Many VWU databases include both general sources and scholarly writing.
Databases - News Sources
New York Times with Index
Full text coverage from 1851-2018 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.
International business and news coverage from local and regional newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade publications, media transcripts, and websites. Company profiles and historical market data also provided.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.
Databases for company and/or industry info
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
Business Source Complete
Full text content and peer-reviewed journals specific to the business discipline, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and others.
Detailed authoritative analyses of companies, industries, products, and markets that are written by analysts at investment banks and independent research firms.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions in the United States.
Regional Business News
Provides full text regional business publications for the United States and Canada. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers all areas of hospitality and tourism with full text journals, magazines, company and country reports, books, and newspapers.
Databases - General
These databases are multidisciplinary - they contain articles on many topics.
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
Academic Search Complete
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
Google Scholar - another tool to find scholarly articles
Google Scholar lists journal articles, books and other scholarly resources in a wide variety of subjects.
Links to many articles in VWU online databases are included.
Don't forget about professional associations! They offer a wealth of information.
Try a google search using the terms association and whatever industry you are researching. e.g. association and tires
The Beer Institute
The Beer Institute was organized in 1986 to represent the industry before Congress, state legislatures and public forums across the country.
National Association of Home Builders
NAHB is a trade association that helps promote the policies that make housing a national priority.
National Automobile Dealers Association
The National Automobile Dealers Association, founded in 1917, represents more than 19,700 new car and truck dealers, both domestic and international, with more than 43,000 separate franchises.