Research Guides: Political Science: Find Articles

Databases covering specific topics and fields

Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously searches PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Full text and indexing for journals, books, and monographs,
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, and a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and related content. More than 260 full text journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 430 journals and periodicals.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions in the United States.
Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new window
Serves as a resource for scholars on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from scholarly journals, magazines and other documents on women’s studies and feminist research. Full text for book reviews.

Databases containing Newspapers & News Sources

New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1851-2019 of the largest daily metropolitan newspaper in the United States. New York Times has been published since 1851.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
News database with global, national, regional, and local news sources, including a unique range of formats (full-text articles, PDF image editions, web-only content, broadcast transcripts, and videos).
This resource supports a diverse range of research needs across multiple academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Includes access to our local Virginian-Pilot newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from local and regional newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade publications, media transcripts, and websites. Company profiles and historical market data also provided.

Journal Finder

Databases - Multidisciplinary

These databases are multidisciplinary - they contain articles on many topics.

Search using multiple terms to narrow your search (e.g. elections and women).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles and e-books in many disciplines. Most recent 3-5 years full text not included. Access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-VII and Life Sciences archive collections. Journal subscriptions to The College Mathematics Journal, 2006-; The William and Mary Quarterly, 2001-; The American Mathematical Monthly 2006-. All e-books in JSTOR are digital rights management-free (DRM-free).
The Advanced Search of all collections is the default. If you do not want to search all of the collections at JSTOR, scroll down and check one or more collections to search.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities, life, health, social, and physical sciences.

Databases containing History Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexing to scholarly articles in journals from 1964 to present on the history of the United States and Canada. Citations and links to books and media reviews. Links to full text for many articles.
Use Historical Abstracts for World History.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present. Indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.