Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Analyse political and economic trends in nearly 200 countries and show you exactly how national, regional and global events will affect your business in the short to medium term. Each report examines and explains the issues shaping the countries where you operate: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Every report also includes a two-year economic and political forecast.
NATO LibGuides contain web articles, websites, reports, news, blogs, multimedia content and official documents, as well as a select number of journal articles and books available from the NATO Multimedia Library . The NATO LibGuides are constantly updated with the most current information.
This is the website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Includes surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.
The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa. A comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets, and civil society in Africa.
Statistical data from the UN. Coverage includes areas such as gender, health, human development, trade, tourism, information communications technology, energy, education, and crime. Data is available by country as well as topic.
Provides worldwide statistics from a wide variety of sources including CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, the World Bank, and OECD in various fields and country comparisons with capabilities to create graphs, charts, and maps.
Nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. Monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
GIO is a free online information service. Ask government information librarians who are experts at finding information from government agencies of all levels (local, state, regional, national international).
Visit the National Women's Hall of Fame - the home of inspiration, innovation and imagination to learn more about great American women. Discover the stories of NWHF Inductees by browsing the Women of the Hall section. "Showcasing great women...Inspiring all!" from Seneca Falls to the world.
Offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms.
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that provides a platform for the dissemination of new practices and for dialogue emerging out of the field of sustainability.
USAID is an independent federal government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State. Supports long-term and equitable economic growth and advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting: economic growth, agriculture and trade, global health and democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance.
Evaluating Web Resources
Evaluating Internet Information
The internet provides useful, current
and interesting information as well as very biased, inaccurate or
incomplete information. The following criteria may help you determine whether to use a specific
web site for information.
Authority
* Look at the URL and determine
the type of domain (.com, .edu, .gov, .org, etc.). * Identify who created the site; this information may or may not be listed on
the website. * Find the author's or publisher's credentials; this information may or
may not be listed on the website. On many websites, the section called
'About Us' will provide this information.
Scope
* Consider the purpose of the site. * Find out when the site was created and how frequently it is updated. Check
to see when was it last updated. Older information may or may not be
useful to you. * Determine if the website provides unbiased information and/or covers
cover more than one side of the topic.
Accuracy
* Try to evaluate if the information factual or opinion. * Consider
whether the information can be verified elsewhere.
Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations.
Includes historical notes regarding the creation and ratification of the U.S. Constitution and its amendments, as well as detailed analyses of subsequent legal interpretations of constitutional language.
