Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover books, media, articles, and more ...
Key Databases for Literature Research
MLA International Bibliography
Subject index for Humanities and interdisciplinary scholarship including books, articles, and websites published on literary theory, criticism, dramatic arts, folklore and linguistics. There is full text access to over 1,000 of the most used journals and articles, some foreign language articles and documents dating back as far as 1881. The database also includes records and links to full text in JSTOR and Project MUSE. The VWU subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals database which provides detailed information on more than 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the bibliography as well as the MLA Thesaurus which includes names of persons, languages, groups, genres, stylistic and structural features, themes, sources, influences, processes, theories and other related topics.
Gale Literary Sources
Critical scholarly resources in literature and the humanities, including critical analyses, biographies, and bibliographies. Full text to e-books and articles in Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online, and Twayne’s Writers Online.