Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Record Groups (RG) contain materials related to the history of and activities at Virginia Wesleyan University. Collections are organized by group (ex. Board of Trustees) or by subject (ex. Student Activities). Please see the finding aids for more in-depth information on individual collections.
RG1: Board of Trustees
This collection pertain to the Virginia Wesleyan University Board of Trustees. It includes the Board's rosters and activities; meeting minutes; the President's Reports to the Board of Trustees; and materials related to the establishment of the University.
RG2: Presidents of the University
Presidents of the University have individual collections in the Manuscript Groups.
RG3: Administration, Staff
Materials in this collection pertain to Virginia Wesleyan administration and staff members. It includes information on promotions and changes; biographical materials on individuals; organizational charts; and faculty/staff meetings and events.
The materials in this collection pertain to the faculty at Virginia Wesleyan University. They include new faculty profiles, faculty orientation handbooks, faculty rosters, and biographical materials on individuals.
RG5: Academic Programs
Materials in this collection pertain to the academic programs at VWU. Topics covered include class schedules; grant information; the Adult Studies Program; individual academic departments and programs; and agreements with other institutions in the area.
This collection contains the reports and papers published at VWU. It includes newsletters; calendars; campus directories; student handbooks; yearbooks; campus newspapers; and press releases concerning the College.
RG7: Student Activities
The materials in this collection pertain to the student activities at VWU. Topics covered by the materials include orientation; campus services; student surveys; specific clubs and organizations; Greek organizations; and athletic teams.
RG8: Alumni Activities
Materials in this collection pertain to the activities of VWU alumni. It includes alumni obituaries; regional alumni events; alumni awards; reunions/homecoming events; and alumni surveys.
RG9: Campus Buildings/Places
The materials in this collection pertain to specific buildings and places on the VWU campus. Of particular interest are materials on the fund-raising, groundbreaking, and openings of particular buildings; campus maps; and memorials on campus.
RG10: College Advancement
The materials in this collection pertain to college advancement, including capital campaigns, marketing, endowments, symbols of the college, the Women of Wesleyan, and external recognition of VWU.
RG11: Church Relations
This collection pertains to VWU's relationship with the United Methodist Church. It includes materials on the United Methodist Men's Scholarship, annual conference dinners, and the Wesleyan Lectures, as well as UMC publications related to the College.
RG12: Business Operations/Campus Policies
This collection pertains to the business operations and campus policies of VWU. Materials cover topics ranging from budgets for both the college and individual departments to policies regarding intellectual property and customer service.
The materials in this collection pertain to the planning, assessment, and accreditation activities of VWU. They cover such topics as strategic planning, the possibility of adding graduate programs, self-study reports, and Phi Beta Kappa.
RG14: Community Outreach/Service
This collection pertains to the community outreach and service performed at and by VWU. Topics cover specific outreach and service projects/programs; goals and policies regarding the surrounding community; and summaries of VWU affiliations.
RG15: Special Programs and Celebrations
This collection pertains to special programs and celebrations at VWU. Of particular interest are materials related to the homeless shelter hosted on campus; campus memorial services; Model UN; campus traditions; and anniversary celebrations.