Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Photographic Record Groups (PRG) contain photographs related to the history of and activities at Virginia Wesleyan University. Collections are organized by group (ex. Board of Trustees) or by subject (ex. Student Activities). Please see the finding aids for more in-depth information on individual collections.
PRG1: Founding of the College
Photographs in this collection pertain to the founding of VWU and cover such topics as the campus site selection; Baker and Smith Farms; and proposed designs of individual buildings and the campus in general.
PRG2: Board of Trustees
The photographs in this collection pertain to the VWU Board of Trustees, covering committee meetings, group photos, and photographs of individuals.
PRG3: Presidents of the University
The photographs in this collection pertain to the President of VWU: Joseph S. Johnston, Lambuth M. Clarke, and William T. Greer, Jr.
PRG4: Symbols of the University
The photographs in this collection pertain to the symbols of VWU, including the College seal; logos; the College Mace; the Presidential Medallion; the John Wesley Statue; and the Marlin mascot.
The photographs in this collection pertain to the faculty members of VWU, and include photos of both individuals and groups.
PRG6: Campus Buildings
The photographs in this collection pertain to the campus buildings and other locations at VWU.
PRG7: Church Relations
The photographs in this collection pertain to church relations with VWU. They cover such topics as the Wesleyan Lectures, the Methodist Bicentennial, and the United Methodist Men.
PRG8: The Academic Program
The photographs in this collection pertain to VWU's academic program. Topics of interest include classroom scenes, photographs of the Adult Studies Program, convocations, ROTC, and the Center for the Study of Religious Freedom.
Photographs in this collection feature individual administration and staff members.
PRG10: Student Activities
The photographs in this collection pertain to student activities at VWU. They cover a variety of activities, including Camp Silver Beach, orientation, student organizations, religious life activities, SGA, honor societies, and Greek organizations.
The photographs in this collection pertain to VWU's alumni. They cover such topics as the Alumni Council, alumni awards, homecoming, reunions, Alumni Day, alumni clergy, and Legacy students.
PRG12: University Advancement
The photos contained in this collection pertain to VWU advancement activities, including Friends of Virginia Wesleyan, the President's Advisory Council, the Women of Wesleyan, the Heritage Society, fund-raising activities, and the Parents' Council.
The photographs in this collection pertain to the VWU commencement ceremonies throughout the College's existence, beginning with 1970.
PRG14: Community Outreach/Service
The photographs in this collection pertain to the community outreach and service done at and by VWU. Topics of interest include the YMCA Day Camp, Habitat for Humanity, Adopt-a-School, and the Weekend Gifted Program.
The photographs in this collection pertain to VWU's athletic teams.
PRG Miscellaneous Folders
The photographs in this collection are miscellaneous and cover a variety of topics. Of particular interests are those taken of the 25th Anniversary of the University and other special events, as well as visitors to the campus.